AECOM recognized by the Society of American Military Engineers with the J.W. Morris Sustaining Member award

LOS ANGELES (May 20, 2021) — AECOM, the world’s premier infrastructure consulting firm, today announced that it is the recipient of the 2020 Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) J.W. Morris Sustaining Member award. The distinction is awarded annually for continued, noteworthy contributions to SAME. In tandem with this prestigious distinction, AECOM’s national governments strategy lead and U.S. Navy veteran, Mark Handley, was sworn in as the SAME national president.

“For more than forty years, AECOM has been a SAME Sustaining Member, supporting the Society at all levels, including providing four national presidents to lead the organization since our governance change in 2012,” said Brig. Gen. Joseph Schroedel, PE, F.SAME, USA (Ret.), SAME executive director. “And in recent years, as a Titanium Partner, AECOM has truly been a partner in our efforts to strengthen industry-government engagement, lead collaboration within the architecture, engineering, and construction industry, and build and develop future leaders for our nation. We congratulate AECOM on receiving the J.W. Morris Sustaining Member award and look forward to working alongside the company and its SAME members to make an even greater impact in our second century.”

AECOM’s dedicated SAME members support the Society’s priorities through efforts such as enhancing industry-government engagement; serving in leadership positions within the Society and inspiring future leaders; supporting STEM programs; preparing veterans for careers in the architecture, engineering, and construction industry; and strengthening resilience in its communities. In addition to the strong leadership AECOM staff bring to the Society, AECOM actively contributes to local K-12, college outreach, and community service programs and financially supports dozens of SAME scholarship funds and camps.

“We are proud to support SAME across the globe and are extremely honored to receive this recognition,” said Karl Jensen, executive vice president of AECOM’s national governments business. “I also congratulate my colleague and fellow SAME member, Mark, as he takes the reigns as the SAME national president. I’m looking forward to a productive year ahead with his leadership. At AECOM, we will continue to invest in SAME programs, community service initiatives, and foster the development of strong SAME leaders.”

The award was presented at a virtual ceremony during SAME’s annual Joint Engineer Training Conference & Expo. First presented in 1981, the J.W. Morris Sustaining Member Award is named in honor of Lt. Gen. John W. Morris of the U.S. Army.

A major contractor to the U.S. Federal Government, AECOM partners with government agencies to achieve innovative, cost-effective solutions for mission success. AECOM leverages its global defense, civilian, and commercial expertise to deliver services across the project lifecycle.

Founded in 1920, SAME is the premier professional association uniting public and private sector individuals and organizations from across the architecture, engineering, construction, technology, environmental and facility management, and contracting and acquisition disciplines in support of national security.

About AECOM 

AECOM is the world’s premier infrastructure consulting firm, delivering professional services throughout the project lifecycle – from planning, design and engineering to program and construction management. On projects spanning transportation, buildings, water, energy and the environment, our public- and private-sector clients trust us to solve their most complex challenges. Our teams are driven by a common purpose to deliver a better world through our unrivaled technical expertise and innovation, a culture of equity, diversity and inclusion, and a commitment to environmental, social and governance priorities. AECOM is a Fortune 500 firm and its Professional Services business had revenue of $13.2 billion in fiscal year 2020. See how we deliver what others can only imagine at and @AECOM.

Media Contact:
Jason Marshall

Senior Director, Global Communications